A Pocket Sketch Challenge


Maui Stamper CCMC267 Pocket CardIt’s been a long time since I’ve played with a sketch challenge.  I was wasting time online doing research the other day and ran across Create With Connie and Mary.  Seems as though I’m always pinning cards from their challenges, so I decided to jump in.  Here’s the sketch:

Create with Connie and Mary CCMC267 sketchPretty simple, wouldn’t you say?  And my concept came together quickly – UNTIL – I got to that embellishment on the top.  (There’s always an “until”, isn’t there?)  Lots of fussing and fiddling, but I finally made a decision.

Maui Stamper Sketch Challenge CCMC267Honestly, I think there are 5 or 6 stamp sets here.  I can tell you that the DSP is Epic Day This ‘n That, the card stock is Crumb Cake, Soft Sky and Pear Pizazz, and the ribbon is Naturals Trim and Burlap.  I cut the top of the pocket and the top of the insert with the Adorning Accents edgelit, and I double cut one of the Chalk Talk framelits to create the shape behind the postage stamp.  I hauled out my sewing machine to stitch the pocket together.

Maui Stamper Sketch Challenge CCMC267Here’s the card outside of the pocket.  Yes, I see that the sentiment is crooked,  I have decided that is my trademark.  However, please also note the glorious arc of the trim at the top.  Clear mount stamps rock my stamping universe!!


7 thoughts on “A Pocket Sketch Challenge

  1. I love your element at the top! The layering of the stamp images is so creative!! Great texture and grunge!! Thanks for playing the fall challenge at Create with Connie and Mary!

    Like

  2. Woo Hoo, Anne’s in the house! I am so glad you finally took the plunge and joined us for this challenge at Create with Connie and Mary! Your card turned out great. The embellishment at the top really works and I am impressed that you sewed the sides of your pocket – wish I had thought to do that with my card. And as always, Anne – you made me chuckle.

    Like

  3. Wow, what a glorious card! I love the combination of stamp images that you used… so cool! I’m really impressed with your curved stamp on the top of your tag insert.. perfect!! Love your writing too. Thanks for joining us this week for the Create with Connie and Mary sketch! Hope you will join us again often!!!

    Like

  4. Love all the extra touches! The wings under the stamp image are fabulous! The color scheme of the DSP you used is my favorite! Very cool! Thanks for playing the Create with Connie & Mary sketch challenge this week!

    Like

  5. Love how you curved the top and all the details on your pocket card! Great job! Thanks for being creative and trying out the pocket card/sketch challenge this week on Create with Connie and Mary!

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.